You fall down, you get up

I’ve fallen down on my determination to keep this blog updated. I think I need to make myself do this.

Today, I discovered I missed a deadline to get into the MA TESOL program at PSU. It’s possible I can rectify this. It’s possible I won’t be able to.

I won’t lie: I’m scared. I’m also kicking myself. I made a mistake, but if I’d gotten off my backside and applied as early as I meant to, it wouldn’t be an issue. But the process scared me, so I put it off. And now I may not be able to salvage much of the situation. I hope I will.

But there are options. I can apply to an online program and get in at semester. PSU is a better option, but it’s not the only one.

The thing is, I’m not giving myself enough credit. I’ve shown myself to be able to stick with things and do well. I’ve lost about 30 pounds. I’ve stuck with an exercise program since 2011. Two years, come June. I also got a great review at work today. The assistant director said I’m doing a great job, that the kids like me. I’ve had so much worry that I was on the brink there, and it was unnecessary. I’m doing a good job. I’m doing well.

I have to keep reminding myself of that. I can do well. I can stick with things. I’m not a victim of circumstance, I’m not helpless, and I’m not alone.

Leave a Reply

